Sunday Musings

I should really call these “musings” posts, blogging for the ADHD crowd!  I’m sure Sharkbait (once he learns to read) would approve…

Last pot of tea, yesterday: Chamomile, lemon balm and mint–very relaxing!

First pot of tea, this morning: Sassafras–very refreshing!

First real thought of the day, courtesy of Facebook (as opposed to that “just woke up” fuzzy head): Standardized testing sucks!  (I’ve even mentioned it in my discussions of the Delphic Maxims) Here’s why, in a share-able pic:

whats-wrong-w-standardized-tests-infographic

But there may be (maybe) hope in sight!  Teachers in Seattle are boycotting the test (seemingly supported by their school officials) and even in Texas, 80% of schools and teachers have signed a national resolution against standardized testing.

Funny story on the idea of an individual’s score varying from day to day… When I was a junior in high school I took the ACT.  Both times I took it, I got the same overall score, but wildly different subject scores.  The first time I took it, I had a 102 degree fever and felt like crap.  I scored awfully in math, but awesome in the reading portions, and better on everything else (but still not great).  The second time, I was in my first car accident…and for some reason, I scored really, really well in math and sort of ‘meh’ in everything else (not badly, but not great). Combining my best scores gave me a 34…combining my worst scores, a 22…and my overall composite score was a 30–which is a damn good ACT score, don’t get me wrong.  But the point is that taking a test like this isn’t indicative of what you actually know, and what you are actually able to do.

And here’s more of the “to Pagan or not” debate that I blogged about the other day.  This blogger has a huge list of other bloggers that have covered the subject so far…and here’s another post on the subject as well.  I’ve been reading through some of these, and I can’t help but think the real problem really is that (as I said in the comments discussion of my post), “I honestly think these people really do feel like they have been left behind, or have moved beyond what they think Paganism is now. Except Paganism now isn’t much different than it was 10 or 20 years ago–except more accepted in some public arenas…so there is also part of me that wonders if their expectations weren’t being met and that Paganism just isn’t what they had made it to be in their mind.”  To me, all this kerfuffle really does seem like the problem is more that the criticism over who the “real” Pagans are (or are not) is that they just don’t “like sharing (their) toys with those Other People that also want to be Pagan.”  Perhaps its an unfair assessment, or maybe we are watching The Pagan Reformation!  More likely than not, its just round 143 of this same old, same old.

And now for something completely different, how about some random thoughts? 

  • I saw this fabulous t-shirt, and I thought of a fellow blogger.
  • I’m almost through with Star Trek TNG, and ready to embark on the original series–I have 5 episodes left!
  • The Chinese New Year starts on the 10th of February and runs until the 24th of Feb…I’m trying to decide if we are going to celebrate it as part of our afterschooling, and take the time to learn about China and Chinese culture.
  • I’m sending The Hubby to the store to pick up creamer (for him), cereal (for the kids), and chocolate ice cream (for me)…just to get the kids out of the house!

A few more pics for the #firstthirtyone photo challenge

12- FlakesSince we don't have any real ones...

12- Flakes
Since we don’t have any real ones…

IMG_6806

13-Cabin Fever
Its been foggy and rainy, and kids without outdoor time go a little crazy indoors, even when you don’t even need a coat outdoors!

In the meantime, I’m trying to decide which version of t-shirt bag I want to make, with a stack of shirts otherwise destined for the rag bag…the no-sew or the cool meshy one.

Moment of Zen:  10 minutes of Mindfulness

And a poem for parting for the cat companions in the crowd…

Felis Cattus, is your taxonomic nomenclature,
an endothermic quadruped carnivorous by nature?
Your visual, olfactory and auditory senses
contribute to your hunting skills, and natural defenses.

I find myself intrigued by your subvocal oscillations,
a singular development of cat communications
that obviates your basic hedonistic predilection
for a rhythmic stroking of your fur, to demonstrate affection.

A tail is quite essential for your acrobatic talents;
you would not be so agile if you lacked its counterbalance.
And when not being utilized to aide in locomotion,
it often serves to illustrate the state of your emotion.

O Spot, the complex levels of behaviour you display
connote a fairly well-developed cognitive array.
And though you are not sentient, Spot, and do not comprehend,
I nonetheless consider you a true and valued friend.

~~Data’s Ode to Spot from Star Trek~~

About thalassa musings

I'm a occasionally-doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, part-time semi-steampunk hausfrau, a bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, a canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, a Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, and a kitchen witch, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of Spiritual Bioregionalism. View all posts by thalassa musings

2 responses to “Sunday Musings

Share your thoughts...I always try to respond, though sometimes I get distracted!! If that's the case, I apologize in advance...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,374 other followers

