Tags

,

Because we are afraid to try something that no one has done before, we need to read three instructional books on how to do it first. We need an author, teacher, or Internet friend to assure us that nothing bad might happen, that it will be fun and safe … and boring. Because we panic when a hedgewitch posts Flying Ointment recipes on her blog.

And we are lazy. We have become a community whose majority are little more than armchair pagans. We study more than we practice and we think that’s the way it’s supposed to be. Paganism, witchcraft, magick … these are PRACTICES. You have to practice them! These pissing contests about what you know are meaningless. We need to focus on ourselves and our practices, not on what someone else has memorized.

Because we have made paganism too commercial, too user friendly, too easy, too accessible. We are more comfortable with a clean, neat, organized, sterilized version of spirituality. We don’t want something messy, sexy, nitty and gritty. We want something that matches the row upon row of identical pink stucco houses that litter suburbia.

Because we don’t want to have to work hard to find wisdom. We want it handed to us in a textbook format.

read the rest @ http://www.witchvox.com/va/dt_va.html?a=cabc&c=words&id=12919

 

When I first discovered Paganism, I tried everything I could find from the few, precious books that were available to me, and then I had two choices…stay where I was, or find my own way.  For a long time, I quietly found my own way.  When I occasionally encountered new material, information, inspiration, I collected it, tried it out and either kept it, or tossed it aside.  I gleaned my practices and beliefs from philosophy, meditation, science, mythology, psychology, observation of the world around me and I forged my own path from my experiences, and from those pieces of wisdom and inspiration I found elsewhere.  

And then I forgot about the imporance of living the Divine.

I became guilty of being like them…and then I realized, I was a Chreaster–I just had a different name for my theological opinion.

I’m not entirely sure if it came from information overload, and the super accessibility of everything that I had worked so hard to achieve on my own for nearly a decade.  Perhaps it was laziness, or just a desire to not be “fluffy” or some such (I don’t remember having made a conscious choice).  Like so many things, it was probably a small accumulation of seemingly insignificant decisions and choices, until the path was a widely paved sidewalk on the highway of Paganism.

It has been some work to find an internal balance, I don’t even think about the work it would take to find an external one.  There is such division in the pagan community–we can’t even define ourselves without bickering.   I think that is important that we learn about the practices of the people that created the paths thats speak to us individually and comunually.   But I also think that historical authenticity is less important that experiental validity.

To find experiental validity, one must first experience.

