Once a month (although, since I am on implanon, its more like every 6-8 weeks or so) I hate being female. Sure, I get how I should feel empowered by my ability to bleed, embrace my womanhood by painting with my menstrual blood and that I should just *know* that bleeding for 3 months out of the year makes me powerful.

Please, spare me the post-modern feminisim bullshit until I am no longer bleeding like a stuck pig. And while you are at it, you can keep the sappy magic of femininity/creator of life crap as well–been there, created two. Pass me a damn Midol, make me a cup of tea and let me wallow in my freaking misery. 

Luckily, I found this while digging thru my old PF posts yesterday…

Rice Sock Re-heatable Pad

(directions from one of babyfit’s natural parenting email newsletter)

1. Fill a large tube sock with dry, uncooked rice (Dig into your lonely mismatched sock basket, and give one a new life!). Add enough rice so that the sock is full, but still flexible.

2. Seal the loose end by tying or sewing it shut.

3. Place in the microwave for 2-3 minutes. Once heated, the rice sock will deliver heat for about 30 minutes.

4. Apply your hot rice sock to any area of the body to relieve muscle aches and tension. Or have your labor partner roll the sock up and down your back.

