Begin as you mean to go on.

For the past several years it has been my tradition to do something new, something daring or something different on New Year’s Day–something that symbolizes the attitude or actions that I want to emulate through out the year.  It all started when I decided on  a whim to join in on the St. Louis area tradition of taking a trip into one of the area’s rivers to kick of my resolution to “try new things” (coincidentally, this was the same year I decided to join the military).  Unfortunately, this year started off as a bit of a fail in that regard.

We spent New Years Eve getting the last of our belongings into storage, cleaning the corporate apartment we had been staying in and moving into a hotel.  New Years Day was spent recuperating.  There was no special meal (unless you count leftover Chinese takeout), no cool event to ring in the New Year (due to the train tickets back to IL for the kids and I) and no starting off on the right foot.  To be honest, the only thing I did of note on the first was take a bath with Epsom salts and lavender oil while drinking a glass of Moscato.

The past couple of months (for reasons that are complex and a bit long and drawn out to go into in a blog) have been not as productive as I would have liked, in terms of things working out and coming together (and trying to overcome the drastic fall of our income once we got out of the military).  To top it off, I’ve had some nagging health issues that (while minor) are aggravating and mentally and physically exhausting–which doesn’t make dealing with stress and uncertainty much easier.

I’ve come to the conclusion that this has been a bit off a (series of) buttprints moment(s).*  And now I need to get off of my butt and make shit happen.

Just because I missed a good start on the first, doesn’t mean I missed a good start for the year.

 

*For any readers that may be uncertain of what a “buttprints moment” is, its the Pagan equivelent of the iconic Christian Footprints poem:

