Thought for the day:

When it gets dark enough,
you can see the stars.
The bee fertalizes the flower that it robs.
Whom the gods would destroy,
they first make mad.
The mills of the gods grind slowly,
but they grind exceedingly fine.

~Charles A. Beard, American historian

Tea of the day: Bengal Spice by Celestial Seasonings with a dollop of brown sugar—fan-freaking-tastic!

What’s up: So, I’m feeling a bit like crap.  For the past month, I’ve had that sort of lingering ick that leaves you hopeful that its almost over, and then just keeps going.  I’m sick of being tired and tired of being sick.  If I had health insurance (since the hubby just started a new job and our old policy expired on 31 of Jan, but the new one doesn’t pick up until April), I think the official diagnosis would be bronchitis and intercostal muscle strain (a fancy way of saying I coughed so hard that my rib muscles were injured–and lemme tell you, it hurts).  Meanwhile, the kids and I are still in Illinois, and visiting while sick (particularly with two little balls of energy) is always difficult. 

What’s interesting: We have a pretty awesome discussion going on at Pagan Forum, on the topic of regionally based spirits and deities and issues of appropriation.  For those of us that recognize spirits of the land, how do you decide what is appropriate when you aren’t practicing in the pantheon that belongs to the people native to that land?  When and where and what should we consider allowable without being guilty of cultural appropriation?

Random Youtube moment: After watching this, I sort of want to take up “mermaiding”, but I’m not quitting my day job for it…although, I could get the kids their own tails

Other thoughts: I’ve thought of a few tips I should have included in my previous two posts.

  • If you are trying to go shampoo-free, its worth trying a water-only “wash”.  Just get under the spray in the shower, and massage your scalp really well.  I find that I can lengthen the time between baking soda/ACV treatments by several days.
  • If you use an oil treatment (particularly at first, until you know how your hair will handle it), I recommend doing it several days before you will need your hair to look awesome.  I tend to bee extra oily for about two days afterwards, so I baking soda with more of a paste than a slurry and work it through all of my hair before rinsing.  Usually, at the third day, my hair is awesome.

 

