Tags

,

nothing lasts
nothing is finished
nothing is perfect
(and that’s okay)

There is a Japanese idea, called wabi sabi, that is both a design aesthetic and a life philosophy–“Pared down to its barest essence, wabi-sabi is the Japanese art of finding beauty in imperfection and profundity in nature, of accepting the natural cycle of growth, decay, and death. It’s simple, slow, and uncluttered-and it reveres authenticity above all.”src I’m quite enamored of this idea, particularly as a parent (they grow so fast)…

Sometimes the moment is enough.  Some of the most amazing moments of my life didn’t have a camera present (and when they did, I was usually the one holding it).  Almost none of them had a t-shirt or key chain souvenir.  Although a few of them have left scars… Some of the most amazing moments of my life have left no trace, except an etching in my memory.   And that is okay.

Its more than okay.  There is beauty in living modestly.  There is beauty in “learning to be satisfied with life as it can be once we strip away the unnecessary”src .  There is beauty in living in the moment.  There is a beauty that transcends a layout in Better Homes and Gardens–making pancakes with the kids in my odd apartment kitchen, teaching the kids to read in the sand with a stick, and my hideous freecycle love seat (soon to be funky and fabulous).  My musty dog, 80’s hotel room fabric love seat may not be wabi sabi now (does a love seat count as a couch?)–and with what is percolating around in my mind, it will never be wabi sabi in terms of aesthetics…but my life certainly is!

…not yet wabi sabi…

