Tags

, , , ,

Chickadee models the Mango Mask…and just *look* at those eyelashes!
She got those from daddy (so did Collin)…I’m totally jealous, lol!

I’m always looking for a way to do stuff with what I have, and to do them as naturally as possible…and since I assume that most people that read my blog are at least *somewhat* like minded, here are a few ways that I use fruit on my face.

Now you can use fruit on your face too!

Not that I’m advocating peer pressure or anything.

But really, you should try it…you might like it.

Applesauce Steaming Cleanse
Take a 1/4 cup of applesauce, a dash (or two) of grapeseed oil, and a sprinkle of cinnamon (just a sprinkle!) and mix. Apply to the face. Take a steaming hot wash cloth or towel (but not so hot you burn your face) and place it over your face. Relax. When cool, wipe off, rinse the rag and repeat a time or two. Leftovers can be refrigerated and used throughout the week.

Simple Citrus Scrub
Take about 2-3 tablespoons of the juice of a citrus fruit (I prefer orange or tangerine, but lemon and grapefruit are also popular choices) and add sugar (white or brown, your choice) until all the juice is absorbed. Add a dash of extra virgin olive oil (or another appropriate oil). Scrub gently and rinse thoroughly. Leftovers can be refrigerated and used throughout the week. If you add a dash of Dr. Bonner’s Peppermint soap, this makes an awesomely fantastic and refreshing exfoliating body wash too!

Mango Oatmeal Mask
Pulverize about 1/3 cup of oatmeal (I do it in the blender, since my food processor bit the dust) and mash about 1/3 c of mango (I do this by juicing the mango flesh that is close to the pit–I think that part has a weird texture and don’t like to eat is, so I turn it into juice for mango-ade while using the left over pulp for my face). Add a big dollop of yogurt about a generous drizzle of honey, and mix it up (buzz it for a second in the food processor or blender, if you’ve already dirtied it). Put it on your face. Don’t worry, it *will* be a bit lumpy and that is okay. Let it start to dry and then rinse off well. Leftovers can be refrigerated and used for a couple of days…and are pretty tasty.

Banana Moisturizing Mask
Peel a banana and take a few bites. When all that is left is about 1/2 of the banana, mash it up. Scramble in an egg yolk and add a dash of sunflower oil. Put it on your face. Rinse after about 10 minutes. Leftovers *can* be put in the fridge for a day or so, but look kind of gross (like old banana)–I don’t recommend it…which is why I suggest eating part of the banana first. No one has such a big face that they need an entire banana for their mask.

Apple Chamomile Toner
Since it never fails that at least once a week I cut up too many apple slices for the kid’s snack tray for them to eat in a timely manner, I had to come up with a way to use them. Take a handful of apple slices (or even a whole apple if you want to dedicate an apple to your face) and pulverize it (or just dice really finely). Put the apple and a about one cups of water in a saucepan. Add about 2 tablespoons of chamomile flowers (or two chamomile tea bags) to the pan (you could also add some yarrow if you have some handy), bring to a boil and then cut off the heat and allow to cool. After its cool, strain and add about 1/4 cup of witch hazel. Apply liberally with a cotton ball or cloth. Keep in the fridge for up around two weeks.

Watermelon Juice After Sun Toner
Take home a few slices of that watermelon from the barbecue–you know, the one where you forgot to reapply the sun screen? Juice the watermelon pieces (watermelon juice also makes good popsicles) and add to an equal amount of aloe vera gel and green tea. Put the mixture in a spray bottle and apply liberally.

