First Tea of the Day: Infused fresh watermelon, lemon balm and cucumber, straight from the fridge!

What’s Brewing: So…if you didn’t notice, I skipped Maxim Monday yesterday.  It should be back on for its regularly scheduled appearance next week.  It was a bit of a hectic day and I actually fell asleep on the couch watching Blue Planet on Netflix around 7:30 before The Hubby woke me up and rolled me into bed shortly thereafter.  What is even more amusing is that the post I ended up publishing yesterday instead, I had meant to schedule to be posted on Wednesday before I went to work!

Oh, well! Such is life…

In other news, we had our first *real* local  Broom and Brew meet-up last week Saturday (I’ve been trying to get this off and going for about a year now, lol), and a second, just for fun, wine & tarot night on Friday.  And…I met a fellow blogger (we are mutual followers), which is totally cool!

Chickadee’s Weekly Recitation & Copywork: 

I will not play at tug o’ war.
I’d rather play at hug o’ war,
Where everyone hugs
Instead of tugs,
Where everyone giggles
And rolls on the rug,
Where everyone kisses,
And everyone grins,
And everyone cuddles,
And everyone wins.

“Hug O’War” by Shel Silverstein

Path of the Week: Numinism
Numinism is a sort of revived Roman paganism venerating the Roman Numina as an expression of a duotheistic godhead that venerates Pomona and Vertumnus (which I mentioned a a few days ago in my post on Pomona).

Herb of the Week: Paw Paw
I know, its a tasty fruit and not an herb–but its still a plant! Paw Paw is an interesting native fruit that grows in a good portion of the eastern United States; and August (depending on where you live) is the start of Paw Paw season! For more information about the Paw Paw, check out my blog from last August.

Deity of the Week: Vertumnus

Vertumnus, like his consort Pomona, is a Roman deity…but unlike Pomona, he is probably not an original deity to Rome. Like many Roman gods, Vertumnus was likely adopted and adapted. It is thought that Vertmunus might have originated from a Etruscan god, perhaps by the name of Voltumna. Whether this is true or not, in Rome Vertumnus was considered to be a god of the seasons, of change, of growth, and of plant life and was able to change his appearance as he wished.

Parting Thought:

The very best way to get rid of the pain is to feel the pain.  And when you feel the pain and go beyond it, you’ll see there is a very intense love that is wanting to awaken itself.

Deepak Chopra

 

 

