Tags

, , , ,

In my stock pot…

Sometimes, on Friday, if I know I’ll be working for the weekend, or we’ll be busy and I don’t want to be bothered with a bunch of meals, I’ll raid the fridge for whatever is left before grocery shopping and the market, and make soup.  Today, this is in the stockpot…waiting for Daddy Man to get my text to start the stove!

  • Half a head of cabbage, shredded
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 3 red potatoes, chunked
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • celery tops (leaves and top stems from one bunch), chopped
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans, rinsed
  • oregano
  • basil
  • lemon pepper
  • garlic salt
  • meatballs (spicy pork and hamburger with dried cranberries and minced garlic)
113_6747

chicken sauteed in hard cider with sweet potato fries (and creamy pesto dressing*) and brussel sprouts

I’ve never liked brussel sprouts…until Wednesday night, thanks to my fave* Food Network personality’s recipe and this blogger‘s suggestion to “shred some gouda” over the top on a cloudy day.  Yeah…I cooked them like Ina, but with garlic salt and lemon pepper, then shredded some (really effing gooda) gouda over the top for the last 2 min of cooking.

I now love brussel sprouts…and so does Chickadee.

This weekend we plan to tackle turnips.  Any suggestions?

*Creamy Pesto Dressing, as Chickadee calls it, is really just 1 part Classico Pesto, 3 or 4 parts Greek Yogurt of your choice. We use it on fries and stuff. Its good on sammies and lettuce wraps too.

From my recipe archives:
These are 2 family recipes–one from my dad’s mom, and another from my dad’s dad.  Both of them are family favorites, but the second one is especially special.

My grandfather found his recipe in a magazine when he and my grandmother were newlyweds, and fairly regularly made it for the family. Some of my favorite memories are cooking with my grandpa as a kid–stuff like rice crispy squares, grandpa’s fudge, and his Lucky Clover Cake. Grandpa was famous for whipping up a batch of something to feed the sweet tooth!  I’m not quite sure why its called Lucky Clover Cake–I used to have an idea that perhaps there was a Lucky Clover Flour or something as a brand, and it was their recipe…but I’ve never been able to find anything.

If you try the Lucky Clover Cake, as a bit of a warning, if you aren’t familiar with vintage recipes, I will say that it is a typical cake recipe for its time, in that it is not obnoxiously sweet, and is a little bit drier than modern cake recipes.

Grandma’s Zucchini Cake
3 eggs
1 c oil
2 c sugar
3 tsp vanilla
2 c grated zucchini
3 c flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c chopped pecans or walnuts
Beat egg well. Add oil, sugar, vanilla and zucchini and mix. Add sifted dry ingredients and mix. Stir in nuts. Bake at 325 degrees F for 1 hour in large greased bunt pan or in two large loaf pans.

(Grandpa’s) Lucky Clover Cake
Melt in a sauce pan:
3 squares Bakers unsweetened chocolate
1/2 c Crisco
Measure into mixing bowl:
2 c cake flour (sifted together)
2 c sugar (sifted together)
1 tsp salt (sifted together)
3/4 c milk
the chocolate mix from above
Mix by hand or mixer for two minutes, then add:
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup milk
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
Mix by hand or mixer for 2 minutes, then bake in a moderate oven (~350 degrees F) for about 40 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

 

