Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Warning: Today’s musings are completely random!

Awesome Quote & Parenting Tip of the Week:

If a child lives with criticism, he learns to condemn
If a child lives with hostility, he learns to fight
If a child lives with ridicule, he learns to be shy
If a child lives with shame, he learns to feel guilty
If a child lives with tolerance, he learns to be patient
If a child lives with encouragement, he learns to be  confident
If a child lives with praise, he learns to appreciate
If a child lives with fairness, he learns to value justice
If a child lives with security, he learns to have faith
If a child lives with approval, he learns to like himself
If a child lives with acceptance and friendship, he learns to find love and hope in the world.

Dorothy Law Neite

First tea of the day: Hibiscus and orange with ginger

A thought while drinking my first tea of the day… For how “safe” transporting is, there sure are a lot of transporting accidents in the Star Trek.

The Pagan Blog Project:  I mentioned before that I was planning to do the Pagan Blog Project this year…but as usual, I’m running behind schedule–I’ll probably do my post tomorrow (yay, real life!).  I have a tentative plan for the year (which includes only doing one post per letter), though I’m fairly sure it will change up a bit…

a is for animism (or maybe altar)
b is for bioregionalism
c is for consciousness
d is for Divine
e is for exorcise (or maybe elements)
f is for fate & free will (or flora and fauna)
g is for gods
h is for hearth
i is for intuition (or maybe immanence)
j is for justice
k is for kind (and not kind=nice definition)
l is for liminal (or maybe labyrinth…though a labyrinth can be liminal)
m is for magesteria…or maybe magic
n is for numina (or nemeton)
o is for omnipresence
p is for polythetic
q is for quicksilver (or maybe quest)
r is for rooted
s is for spiral (or maybe spirit)
t is for transformation
u is for unknowing
v is for vision (or maybe veritas or vitality)
w is for weaving
x is for xenia
y is for you
z is for zeal without zealotry

Herb of the Week: Hibiscus

The genus Hibiscus is a group of over two hundred species common to warmer areas of the world.   Grown in a garden hibiscus attracts bees, butterflies and other pollinators, including hummingbirds.  Hibiscus is edible and a commonly (though not exclusively) enjoyed as a tea–different cultures enjoy a variety of preparations.

Different species of hibiscus species are used globally, but Hibiscus sabdariffa is the most common commercially used hibiscus.  It has a history of use in alternative medicine as a diuretic and laxative, and for cardiac and nervous complaints.  Some studies have indicated that hibiscus can help lower blood pressure and blood cholesterol.  Hibiscus is high in vitamin C and other antioxidants.  Magically,  hibiscus can be used in spells and rituals for love and passion, in divination and dream working, and to foster peace and balance.

A Blog Award!!!

Whee!!  I got a BLOG AWARD!!  I totally love blog awards!

Thanks so much to Poppy at Book of Shadows and Blessings!  

And…for the rules of the award,

1.the bloggers have to have 200 or less followers.

2.there is a list of questions to answer from your nominator as well as having to come up with a list of questions for your own nominees. you can either use the same questions as was asked of you or make up new ones for your nominees.

3.copy/paste the award logo into your post. you can add it to your blog sidebar or footer if you wish.

4. notify your nominees of the nomination.

Also…nominees have to answer whatever questions the person that nominates them asks…so here goes!

  • Which art form offers you the truest expression for yourself?  Oh gosh…this one is so hard. Ummmmm…. Probably writing.  And maybe photography, cooking…if cooking can be considered an art form.  I enjoy a variety of art forms, but I’m not terribly skilled artist in any medium.  I like to sing, I enjoy dancing…but I sort of suck at both.  I’m mediocre at painting and the like.
  • In that art form, what is your most honest piece of expression? I have no idea.
  • What always makes you laugh? My kids–they do the darndest things.  The Hubby too.  And off the wall, totally inappropriate humor.
  • What always makes you cry? Nothing *always* makes me cry, though poingnant stuff does the trick pretty well from time to time.
  • What is one thing that you can’t do that you’d love to be able to do? Surf
  • What is your favorite book? Why does it affect you so? Hmmm…I’m not sure I can limit myself to just one book.  Though, right now, I think the best books I’ve read in a while are the first two installations of the All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness.
  • What is your favorite movie or play? Why does it affect you so? Last of the Mohicans.  Its been my fave since I was a kid.  
  • If you were given the opportunity to spend one more day with a friend or family member who has passed away, what would you do? I would spend the day with my paternal grandparents…I wish I had more time to hear the stories of my family.  Or maybe The Hubby’s dad…he passed away when The Hubby was a kid, and I would have liked to meet him.
  • If you had won the $580 million Power Ball jackpot, what would you be doing today? The same thing I am doing now, but in a beach side rental in the Keys for the winter.

My award nominees… My friends V over at her new photo blog, Deb at Small House, Big Picture , and A E Goddard @ Upholding Ma’at.  Now I just need to go inform everyone!

First 31 Photo Challenge:

So, I’m totally doing this…

But I’ve been awful about uploading and posting my pics, lol!

I did make posting #2, because I was already posting about trees that day…but I still have to post 1, 2, 4…and now 5, to be caught up with today.

So here goes!

Resolutions-1We don't do "resolutions" so much as we do "goals" in our home--more like a bucket list with a sharpie than something doomed to fail, if you will.  And one of our family goals for the year is to be more in tune with our bioregion,  and oysters are a critical part of our bioregion's health!

Resolutions-1

We don’t do “resolutions” so much as we do “goals” in our home–more like a bucket list with a sharpie than something doomed to fail, if you will. And one of our family goals for the year is to be more in tune with our bioregion, and oysters are a critical part of our bioregion’s health!

113_6696

Returns-3

I admit, I cheated a little bit here. I had another pic I would have liked to have used…but I forgot to ask the person in the photo’s permission, and I just don’t think its right to post a pic of someone without their permission. So…I happened to have taken this one when I took today’s! Sharkbait is “returning” Mama O’shen some of her shells and things that washed up in the tide…

Something New-4

Something New-4

Chickadee & her newest mermaid for her mermaid collection. My daughter is mermaid obsessed.  I’ll have today’s pic posted later (or maybe tomorrow!)…

Where typos come from (in case you don’t read post comments regularly): There are invisible little fairies that live in the keyboards of computers and typing is an aphrodisiac for them–the more you use your keyboard, the more excited you get, and the less precise they are at transmitting your key selection to the computer.

And now…its time to actually get dressed, get the house picked up and get the kids out to run around before they drive the grown ups nuts!!

