A great post!!

Under the Maple Canopy

Sometimes I feel like the odd mom out. Homeschooling was often difficult and stressful. I couldn’t quite let go enough to unschool and I had had no interest in trying to make nice with the fundagelicals. These days I find that I don’t care enough about the sorts of things that public school parents are supposed to care about (mainly test scores and a freakish obsession with attendance). I let my kids watch Disney movies, but I don’t have cable television and I limit their opportunities to watch TV. I don’t let my kids have free access to computers and electronic games, but I do allow them to have judicious access to the iPad and am still on the hunt for good educational games and resources.

Lately, I feel this limbo even more keenly as I’m finding some parts of the previous roles I played difficult to give up. I…

View original post 2,004 more words

