Errors like straws upon the surface flow: Who would search for pearls must dive below

~John Dryden

I had planned to ring in the blogging New Year with a post about choosing a word for the year (more of a theme, really).  If I were to do so, it would be about deepening.  To engage in the process of becoming more profound, of accumulating intensity.   To take apart everything, including myself, to look within.  To dive into the depths in search of what is hidden, secret.  To find meaning everywhere, in everything.

But I’m finding it a bit difficult to find meaning in my nasty chest cold that I seemed to have picked up recently (it busted out the full force on me yesterday and today I feel like a MAC truck is sitting on my chest while a dragon burps inside my bronchial tubes every time I cough).  As would happen with these things, I picked up said miserable cold right in the middle of our biennial visit from The Hubby’s mama.  And so, here we are, trying to navigate the pitfalls Raising Pagan Babies whilst in the middle of A Holiday with the Fiercely Catholic MIL while I have The Crud.

Saying that I’ve had better weeks is something of an understatement.

And I’m pretty sure there is a lesson to be had there, in burning pain of hacking up a lung while wheezily groping for my inhaler.  Perhaps to appreciate the ability to breathe–when its compromised life sort of sucks.  Perhaps the lesson might be be thankful for the presence of The Hubby who is kindly brewing a cup of my favorite tea for cold season (he leaves again on Monday, this time until at least September).  But to be quite honest, I right now I could care less if there’s a lesson in my current suffering.

I just want it to go away.

So, I’m about to go deepen my relationship with my blankies and a cuppa tea, and perhaps some Kim Harrison (I’ve been on a Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy kick lately ).  Hope you are having a blessed (and healthy) start to the New Year!

ETA:  If you were wondering, said tea is a combination of mullein, slippery elmelderberry, speedwell, and wild black cherry.

