Tags

I need a sign that says “when life gives you lemons make kamikazes”…not because life has been sour, but because I could really use a kamikaze.  Its my current poison of choice on the rare occasion I get out with the hubby and we actually do something that involves having a drink.

Its been oppressively hot here the past week.  And, I’m in a walking boot….except at work, because I can’t do my job in a walking boot. If you are familiar with the Navy, you will understand why a walking boot is a bad idea–too much climbing on ships…walking boots and ladderwells don’t go together (if you aren’t familiar with the Navy, I’ve posted a video link from youtube of someone’s walk to work everyday from their berthing).

Anyway, it seems I have a stress fracture of the fifth metatarsal. Which is fine, except if I spend all day on my feet or the kids pounce on my and squish the foot the wrong way, or it gets tangled in the blankets in bed, or the hubby accidentally steps on it. So, basically, it hurts a lot, but not so much that I’m not mobile.

What its like to get around a Navy ship:

My mantra lately is that “it could always be worse”. And this is where the kamikaze’s come in. Its “end of the school year slumber party time”. The kiddos had their last day of school Tuesday. Last time we had a slumber party they were up til the wee hours of the morning, and I’m thinking a kamikaze or two would make sleeping through Frozen on replay with a cacophony of giggly little girls much easier. Unfortunately, I also think that would be irresponsible parenting.

But one can dream.

Dear gods…I just had to give a countdown for Chickadee (whom I’ve lately taken to calling Pop-tart). She’s about bouncing out of her skin in impatient excitement.

1 hour and 23 minutes til lift-off.

Thankfully, I have a handy pot of tea here. (When do I *not* have a handy pot of tea here?) Apple and lemon balm.

My new tea infuser....I picked it up at a yard sale a couple weeks ago!

My new tea infuser….I picked it up at a yard sale a couple weeks ago!

Pardon me while I take a few moments of zen with a new blog I discovered, thanks to my bestest bestie in the whole wide world (we’ve known each other for nearly 20 years now).

(4 hours and 23 minutes and 3 pizzas later)

Well, we are back from the pool time and pizza. The kiddos are getting dried off and in their jammies. The Pirate Fairy, Frozen, Brave, The Lego Movie and the perennial favorite, The Little Mermaid are about to start rolling for the movie marathon portion of the evening. Daddy Man went to pick up ice cream and donuts for the morning.
I’m tired just thinking about it…

And tomorrow, we celebrate the solstice!

